You are here: Home>About Us>About University.

Print this page. Mail this page to your friend.

Makhanlal Chaturvedi Rashtriya Patrakarita Vishwavidyalaya, Bhopal , was set up by Act Number 15 of 1990 of the Legislative Assembly of Madhya Pradesh. The University is named after Makhanlal Chaturvedi, a renowned Freedom Fighter, Poet and Journalist. This University was formally inaugurated by Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma, the then Vice President of India, on 16th January, 1991. The University is a member of the Association of Commonwealth Universities and the Association of Indian Universities (AIU). It is not an Open University providing Distance Education. It does not provide education through correspondence. It is not a Conventional University having limited territorial jurisdiction. It has jurisdiction through out the country. Consistent with the recent trend of globalisation and internationalisation of education, the University is imparting education outside the country also.

In keeping with its national character:-

  • The Vice President of India is the Visitor of the University
  • The General Council of the University, which is its Apex Body, comprises, amongst others, the following:-
  • A member of the Lok Sabha, nominated by the Speaker of Lok Sabha 
  • A member of the Rajya Sabha, nominated by the Chairperson of Rajya Sabha
  • Chairman of the Press Council of India
  • Ten members representing different States of the country. Five of them are nominated by Chief Ministers of respective States. The remaining five are representatives of five Indian languages
  • Three members representing three All India Professional Bodies.
  • Five professionals from various parts of the country.

The University aims at developing excellent professionals with social commitment.

Follow us on facebook Followus on Twitter Planets





Page best viewed in Internet Explorer 8.0+, Mozilla Firefox 1.5+, Chrome with 1024x768 Resolution


Designed and developed by: Mangal N. Tiwari